Reviews of Le Mas & Le Mazet

EXCELLENT
57 reviews on
Stephen Edmondson
Stephen Edmondson
24 November 2023
Le Mazet was super accomodation in a lovely setting. Its situation, within easy reach of Montpazier, Perigueux and the Dordogne/Sarlat area, gave us a wealth of places to explore. Our hosts, Rupert & Franck, were wonderfully welcoming and helpful. A splendid holiday!
Jackie Woodhead
Jackie Woodhead
29 October 2023
Le Mas is a slice of paradise. Hosting is fantastic - nothing is too much trouble, both before and during your stay, and there is a wealth of unexpected special touches provided. The property is exceptional - luxurious and peaceful, with stunning gardens and views. We had a wonderfully memorable fortnight as a group of friends, with teenage daughters. Days in the pool or exploring the countryside; evenings in the summer kitchen, watching the sunsets. We cannot recommend Le Mas enough. Perfection!
rebecca pickering
rebecca pickering
18 September 2023
We have just returned from our wonderful family holiday at Le Mas et Le Mazet. We loved every minute. It is a magical place with stunning scenery, peaceful atmosphere and is incredibly well equipped for a superb holiday. The quality and attention to detail is phenomenal. Rupert and Franck are extremely kind and helpful. The welcome hamper of local fresh fruit and vegetables, eggs and homemade jams was a lovely surprise and very thoughtful. The property is finished to a very high standard with comfortable beds with beautiful bed linen, luxury White Company products in all bathrooms. The kitchen has everything you need with plenty of cutlery, crockery and glasses and the outdoor kitchen is perfect for eating, and drinking whilst enjoying the beautiful green vista. We enjoyed the heated pool and had lots of family fun and games. There are so many gorgeous villages to explore with lovely markets and spectacular rivers for canoeing down. It truly is the ideal destination. We look forward to returning in the future. Thank you.
BG Porritt
BG Porritt
8 August 2023
This year we made our 7th trip to Le Mas & Le Mazet. I thought it was about time to review it as each year our love for the place grows even more. The location is incredible: not only is it convenient for Bergerac airport, it’s positioned between Beaumont and Monpazier, two beautiful and historic villages/towns with all the shops and conveniences you could need. The Dordogne river with its chateaus and canoeing is also not far and neither are the caves. The view from Le Mas is also entrancing and bucolic; haybales, sunsets and chateaus all from the stunning outdoor kitchen. The property itself still really stands out, even all these years on, maintained inside and out with phenomenal attention to detail. The bedrooms are full of storage, great en-suites and dreamy beds with gorgeous bed linen and quality duvets. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need and plenty of (matching!) cutlery, crockery and glasses so no need to be constantly washing up. The living room has huge sofas so everyone can be comfortable and large cupboards full of books and games for cooler or cloudy days. During your stay the owners Rupert & Franck are on hand if you need them but practically invisible if not. They have organised several experiences for us; this year we particularly enjoyed the fabulous massages from Marielle under the trees in the shade, and an exceptional dinner by Didier. Rupert & Franck have been an absolute pleasure to get to know and each visit it feels more and more like home from home. We countdown to our next visit from the moment we leave!
Virginia B
Virginia B
29 June 2023
Rupert & Franck have created holiday heaven! Their property is on site but they manage the balance of being available (they are a mine of local info!) & allowing privacy for total relaxation. Weather wasn’t great for us, although thunderstorms watched from the fabulous outdoor kitchen have their own appeal! The accommodation is perfect for a group of adults as only one room is more suitable for children and there is plenty of space for everyone to do their own thing. We loved visiting Millie to pick organic veg (some of which was included in our welcome goodies) and we enjoyed long lunches & dinners outside everyday. The local area is beautiful with lots to do but you will want to get back to this special place as soon as you can to squeeze every drop out of your time there! We very much hope to return…..
Samantha Pedrick
Samantha Pedrick
4 June 2023
Having stayed for the first time in 2022, we had no hesitation in booking again for 2023. This time we took 10 people so had both properties and, just like last time, everything was perfect. Franck and Rupert are excellent hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. A wonderful week was spent lying by the pool during the day followed by eating and drinking in the outdoor kitchen in the evenings. The kids loved the pool and all the toys and games, whilst the adults appreciated the variety of places and spaces to find some much needed peace and quiet. Both properties have everything you could possibly need to make it a true home-from-home. I have no doubt we will be back again, as long as we can find some availability,
Rebekah Clark
Rebekah Clark
1 June 2023
This marked our second visit to Le Mas, having celebrated my 40th birthday there with friends five years ago. On this occasion the party was a little different as we brought three little girls with us, who loved the house and grounds as much as we do! They were overjoyed with the pool and were in there every day for most of the day! It was wonderful to see Rupert, Franck and Plum again. Rupert is a source of brilliant local knowledge (restaurants, places to visit etc), and we also enjoyed an historical tour of the house and grounds. Such a special place that I want to keep it a secret as it is hard enough to book as it is! If you get the chance to go and stay, grab it with both hands. You won't be disappointed.
Jamie Corstorphine
Jamie Corstorphine
30 May 2023
Had the most fabulous holiday at Le Mas & Le Mazet. Beautiful, comfortable and spacious accommodation, and the most accommodating hosts who are always happy to help with recommendations and arrangements. Highly recommended.
Hidde V
Hidde V
24 May 2023
Wij zijn hier in mei geweest het was fantastisch! Super fijn en rijk uitgerust huis. Er stond een welkomstpakket klaar met lokale wijnen en zelf gemaakte jam en Gin! Hoe leuk! Het huis is op een prachtige manier verbouwd. Wij hebben twee weken als god geleefd in Frankrijk!
Carole Brand
Carole Brand
30 April 2023
We love staying at Le Mas - it's great for families, with the beautifully-kept surroundings, house, and pool. The owners are terrific, very responsive to any queries ,and always ready with suggestions of where to go and what to do. We look forward to our time there each year!

“One of the best places to stay in France” Channel 4

Le Mas & Le Mazet feature in series 1 (episode 15) and series 2 (episodes 26, 27, 28) of Help! we bought a village. In the programme we explore the history of Le Mas, show behind the scenes and several of our guests talk about what it’s like staying here!

Le Mas has been awarded 5-stars and Le Mazet 4-stars by the Dordogne Perigord Tourist Board. Of the 2,157 gîtes in the Dordogne, only 13 have 5-stars and 233 have 4-stars. 

The Daily Telegraph came to stay and awarded us 9/10, concluding that “Le Mas & Le Mazet is a luxurious rural retreat for nature lovers, peace seekers and bon vivants”.

 

You can read reviews from previous guests on Google.

The Times included Le Mas in their 50 French Best Holidays in 2019 and Le Mazet in an article about the Dordogne in 2019.

LUXLife awarded us 2020 Best Luxury Rental Accommodation in France

Kid & Coe included Le Mas as Trending for 2023 – our top 9 homes that book the fastest.

In November 2022, Le Mas & Le Mazet were one of The Telegraph’s 50 Best Family-Friendly Places in France.

Sawday’s included us in their
30 ‘why wait?’ places for 2021
and
30 most popular places for 2020.

Read our article for Sawday’s:
“Rupert Springfield is the owner of Le Mas & Le Mazet, as well as one of the creators of the consultancy service Gîte Guru. He hasn’t literally written the book on gîtes yet, but we assume he’s working on it. Here he talks about the evolution of the gîte, his own mission at Le Mas & Le Mazet ,and shares some tips for making the right choice.”