Reviews of Le Mas & Le Mazet

“Le Mas & Le Mazet is a luxurious rural retreat for nature lovers, peace seekers and bon vivants”
The Daily Telegraph (2016)

“A beautiful gîte – Le Mas & Le Mazet eclipsed all others”
The Guardian (2024)

“One of the best places to stay in France”
Channel 4 (2023)

EXCELLENT
62 reviews on
Stijn Wesselink
Stijn Wesselink
15 May 2024
Waanzinnige locatie, alles erop en eraan in een prachtig decor. Bijzonder gastvrij ontvangen op Le Mas et Le Mazet! Een prachtige hoeve met geweldige buitenruimte waar je heerlijk tot rust komt, fijn zoutwater zwembad en alle ruimte. Ook spellen (jeu de boules, tafeltennis tafel, boogschieten) en uitzichten… je kijkt prachtig weg over het glooiende landschap. Binnen zijn de huizen prachtig en sfeervol, met open haard, mooie (slaap)vertrekken en van alle gemakken voorzien. We hebben hier genoten met drie generaties familie en kijken terug op een heerlijke week. De omgeving is mooi en typisch Frans, leuke stadjes in de buurt en de eigenaren denken goed mee en ontzorgen. Kortom, een enorme aanrader om hier eens te vertoeven. Zoals de eigenaren zelf zeggen… “leven als een god in de Dordogne” is helemaal zoals wij het hebben ervaren!
Maaike Wesselink
Maaike Wesselink
15 May 2024
Fantastisch mooie plek met prachtig uitzicht; zeer compleet, schoon en goed uitgerust huis. Een pareltje dat met een goed gevoel voor sfeer is ingericht en opgezet. Absolute aanrader!
N Brand
N Brand
1 May 2024
Once again a wonderful spring week in the beautiful Dordogne hills! Le Mas was great for the six of us - kids and grandkids upstairs at one end of the house, the two of us at the other end, with the dining room / kitchen and living room on the ground floor as our common play grounds. We swam in the pool every day except the rainy one; we had lunches out in the neighboring villages, shopped the local markets, and cooked supper at the house. Walked the fields and woods, canoed 12 km on the Dordogne, spotted a black stork, heard cuckoos (both exotic for Americans) and totally relaxed. Thanks to our hosts Franck and Rupert who keep the house and gardens so well and know so much about the area!
Rochelle Le Pine
Rochelle Le Pine
27 April 2024
Absolutely gorgeous home and gardens, great for families. Rupert & Frank are lovely and very welcoming. Highly recommend for a stay in the Perigord area.
Barrie Baker
Barrie Baker
14 April 2024
I spent hours looking at accommodation for a special birthday surprise for my wife’s birthday. I had almost given up when I dropped Rupert a line to see if they had availability at Le Mazet for a few days in March 2024. The booking process was seamless with Rupert keeping me updated. We arrived at the Le Mas and Le Mazet and I immediately felt I had made the right choice. The fire was lit and a bottle of wine was on the table, our hosts Rupert and Franck were even nicer in person attentive, knowledgable and passionate about what they do. My wife worked in hospitality at a senior level for over 40 years and it was the first time that she could not find fault with anything. Le Mazet is cosy ideal for two comfortable bed, great shower, fantastic lounge and views to die for. Whilst at Le Mas we took the opportunity to follow up some of Rupert and Francks recommendations in particular the wine tour with Vince and Sue was exceptional. We went to three local wineries met some exceptional wine growers who were passionate about their craft had a great lunch and a bottle of wine and fizz, a great day and great value for money. We also had a birthday lunch at Le Vieux Logis in Tremolat which was superb. Monpazier, Bergerac, Belvès and Sarlat-la-Canéda are all within easy reach. Rupert and a Franck are exceptional at what they do they are really passionate about their guests experience nothing is too much trouble, which included a surprise Easter egg hunt which made us both smile. I see why they are so popular and booked up, this kind of attention to detail in hospitality you come across all too rarely. Well done to you both we are looking to return with the family and enjoy the pool and the outside kitchen this time. A very special place.
Stephen Edmondson
Stephen Edmondson
24 November 2023
Le Mazet was super accomodation in a lovely setting. Its situation, within easy reach of Montpazier, Perigueux and the Dordogne/Sarlat area, gave us a wealth of places to explore. Our hosts, Rupert & Franck, were wonderfully welcoming and helpful. A splendid holiday!
Jackie Woodhead
Jackie Woodhead
29 October 2023
Le Mas is a slice of paradise. Hosting is fantastic - nothing is too much trouble, both before and during your stay, and there is a wealth of unexpected special touches provided. The property is exceptional - luxurious and peaceful, with stunning gardens and views. We had a wonderfully memorable fortnight as a group of friends, with teenage daughters. Days in the pool or exploring the countryside; evenings in the summer kitchen, watching the sunsets. We cannot recommend Le Mas enough. Perfection!
rebecca pickering
rebecca pickering
18 September 2023
We have just returned from our wonderful family holiday at Le Mas et Le Mazet. We loved every minute. It is a magical place with stunning scenery, peaceful atmosphere and is incredibly well equipped for a superb holiday. The quality and attention to detail is phenomenal. Rupert and Franck are extremely kind and helpful. The welcome hamper of local fresh fruit and vegetables, eggs and homemade jams was a lovely surprise and very thoughtful. The property is finished to a very high standard with comfortable beds with beautiful bed linen, luxury White Company products in all bathrooms. The kitchen has everything you need with plenty of cutlery, crockery and glasses and the outdoor kitchen is perfect for eating, and drinking whilst enjoying the beautiful green vista. We enjoyed the heated pool and had lots of family fun and games. There are so many gorgeous villages to explore with lovely markets and spectacular rivers for canoeing down. It truly is the ideal destination. We look forward to returning in the future. Thank you.
BG Porritt
BG Porritt
8 August 2023
This year we made our 7th trip to Le Mas & Le Mazet. I thought it was about time to review it as each year our love for the place grows even more. The location is incredible: not only is it convenient for Bergerac airport, it’s positioned between Beaumont and Monpazier, two beautiful and historic villages/towns with all the shops and conveniences you could need. The Dordogne river with its chateaus and canoeing is also not far and neither are the caves. The view from Le Mas is also entrancing and bucolic; haybales, sunsets and chateaus all from the stunning outdoor kitchen. The property itself still really stands out, even all these years on, maintained inside and out with phenomenal attention to detail. The bedrooms are full of storage, great en-suites and dreamy beds with gorgeous bed linen and quality duvets. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need and plenty of (matching!) cutlery, crockery and glasses so no need to be constantly washing up. The living room has huge sofas so everyone can be comfortable and large cupboards full of books and games for cooler or cloudy days. During your stay the owners Rupert & Franck are on hand if you need them but practically invisible if not. They have organised several experiences for us; this year we particularly enjoyed the fabulous massages from Marielle under the trees in the shade, and an exceptional dinner by Didier. Rupert & Franck have been an absolute pleasure to get to know and each visit it feels more and more like home from home. We countdown to our next visit from the moment we leave!
Virginia B
Virginia B
29 June 2023
Rupert & Franck have created holiday heaven! Their property is on site but they manage the balance of being available (they are a mine of local info!) & allowing privacy for total relaxation. Weather wasn’t great for us, although thunderstorms watched from the fabulous outdoor kitchen have their own appeal! The accommodation is perfect for a group of adults as only one room is more suitable for children and there is plenty of space for everyone to do their own thing. We loved visiting Millie to pick organic veg (some of which was included in our welcome goodies) and we enjoyed long lunches & dinners outside everyday. The local area is beautiful with lots to do but you will want to get back to this special place as soon as you can to squeeze every drop out of your time there! We very much hope to return…..

Le Mas has been awarded 5-stars and Le Mazet 4-stars by the Dordogne Perigord Tourist Board. Of the 2,157 gîtes in the Dordogne, only 13 have 5-stars and 233 have 4-stars. 

The Daily Telegraph came to stay and awarded us 9/10, the highest score in the Dordogne.

 

In 2024 the Guardian’s “top finds in France” article included us.

The Sunday Times featured us in a 2-page article in 2022, and again in 2023 and 2024.

The Times included Le Mas in their 25 Best Stays in the Dordogne in 2024 and their 50 French Best Holidays in 2019.

Kid & Coe included Le Mas as Trending for 2023 – our top 9 homes that book the fastest.

In 2022, Le Mas & Le Mazet were one of The Telegraph’s 50 Best Family-Friendly Places in France.

Sawday’s included us in their
30 ‘why wait?’ places for 2021
and
30 most popular places for 2020.

Le Mas & Le Mazet feature in series 1 (episode 15) and series 2 (episodes 26, 27, 28) of Help! We bought a village.
In the programme we explore the history of Le Mas, show behind the scenes and several of our guests talk about what it’s like staying here.

In the media