Reviews of Le Mas & Le Mazet

EXCELLENT
48 reviews on
Emily Eakland
Emily Eakland
November 3, 2022.
A once in a lifetime (or hopefully not) vacation rental! Our stay was even better than the pictures and writeup promised - truly a one of a kind opportunity you have to experience for yourself. The hosts have thought of everything, creating an inviting, beautiful, and welcoming stay for you and your guests. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect fall getaway - book now!
Read more
The Bean
The Bean
October 28, 2022.
Such a jewel in the crown in terms of hospitality and location. Rupert and Franck were the perfect hosts. Attention to detail in Le Mazet was perfect along with a welcome pack including home made jam..... I would not hesitate in recommending Le Mas & Le Mazet to anyone who wants peace and tranquility. Cannot wait to return. John and Lynn . Wiltshire England
Read more
Vincenza Kamwendo
Vincenza Kamwendo
October 26, 2022.
We had the most glorious week at Le Mas. The house is gorgeous in a most amazing location. The kitchen was so well equipped it was a pleasure to prepare and enjoy all the delicious food from surrounding markets. Rupert and Franck are generous and kind hosts. Highly recommend for a family or group of friends who want to really relax and enjoy the simple pleasures of the French countryside.
Read more
Holly Bass
Holly Bass
October 25, 2022.
Le Mas is a gem. The house was somehow more beautiful than the pictures. The owners have thought of everything and were gracious and accommodating. We were a group of artists and found tremendous inspiration in the grounds and local sites. 10s across the board! Would definitely like to return in the future.
Read more
Alison Lacy
Alison Lacy
October 10, 2022.
A completely beautiful, tranquil, luxurious get away. A place where you can truly relax. Every little detail has been considered to ensure your comfort and the owners couldn’t be more welcoming or helpful. We love it so much we’ve visited 5 times!
Read more
Laura Hazlewood
Laura Hazlewood
September 8, 2022.
Amazing place, fantastic views and pool and the attention to detail was the best we have ever had in France. Can't wait to return!
Read more
Susan Percival
Susan Percival
September 8, 2022.
From the moment of our very friendly welcome to our warm departure this holiday was wonderful. Set in a gorgeous area of the Dordogne Le Mas and Le Mazet delivered beyond expectation for all 12 of us! The accommodation is stunning, the setting and gardens glorious and the attention to detail by our lovely hosts is remarkable. We have stayed in gites in France for decades but this surpasses anything else and how! I know that this is a bunch of superlatives but it’s true! Little details…like a heated salt water pool, a lovely pétanque barn, a massive collection of books and games and information on every aspect of the locality shows just how much thought and attention Rupert and Franck have gone to, to exceed your expectations. Yet this is a gite in rural France, and , despite all the luxury, it remains so. No air conditioning, cobbled paths, and quirky touches but it’s originality is preserved. That is yet another aspect that made it feel so special to us. We will be back, and we cannot recommend it highly enough.
Read more
Ann Champ de L'ouest
Ann Champ de L'ouest
July 12, 2022.
LOVE this place and the beautiful views. Owners are great and very helpful, literally the best. We will come back and stay as soon as possible!🍀
Read more
Jane Savage
Jane Savage
June 20, 2022.
We returned in June 2022 and couldn't believe it seemed even better than our previous visits. The beautiful house is full of character and has everything you could wish for. The large outside eating area is perfectly equipped for all day dining and the pool is sublime. The friendly, yet discreet, hosts truly are the best and ensure you are totally spoilt. All this, set amongst stunning scenery, means we'll definitely be coming back soon.
Read more

Le Mas has been awarded 5-stars and Le Mazet 4-stars by the Dordogne Perigord Tourist Board. Of the 2,157 gîtes in the Dordogne, only 13 have 5-stars and 233 have 4-stars. 

The Daily Telegraph came to stay and awarded us 9/10, concluding that “Le Mas & Le Mazet is a luxurious rural retreat for nature lovers, peace seekers and bon vivants”.

 

You can read reviews from previous guests on Google.

The Times included Le Mas in their 50 French Best Holidays in 2019 and Le Mazet in an article about the Dordogne in 2019.

LUXLife awarded us 2020 Best Luxury Rental Accommodation in France

Kid & Coe included Le Mas as Trending for 2023 – our top 9 homes that book the fastest.

In November 2022, Le Mas & Le Mazet were one of The Telegraph’s 50 Best Family-Friendly Places in France.

Sawday’s included us in their
30 ‘why wait?’ places for 2021
and
30 most popular places for 2020.

Read our article for Sawday’s:
“Rupert Springfield is the owner of Le Mas & Le Mazet, as well as one of the creators of the consultancy service Gîte Guru. He hasn’t literally written the book on gîtes yet, but we assume he’s working on it. Here he talks about the evolution of the gîte, his own mission at Le Mas & Le Mazet ,and shares some tips for making the right choice.”

We were thrilled to be featured in The Sunday Times earlier this year, in an interview about running Le Mas & Le Mazet and Gîte Guru, advising clients about starting up and running holiday homes in France.

Read the full article